Colorado


dfgColorado started its Building Farmers program in 2007. Since 2007, over 300 producers have completed the program, almost 200 developed business plans and 23 subsequently worked under the guidance of an experienced producer-mentor to implement their plans and advance their business goals.

Colorado Quick Links

Inserts a link to your Facebook page

Colorado Building Farmers Sponsors

We would like to thank American AgCredit and The USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture for their sponsorship of the Colorado Building Farmers Program.

This project is based upon work supported by NIFA under Award Number: 2012-49400-19767

AgCreditNIFA

Click sponsor name to visit them: American AgCredit; NIFA

To learn more about becoming a sponsor of Colorado Building Farmers click here

Colorado Local Program Coordinators

Adrian Card,Boulder County Extension,
adrian.card@colostate.edu
Kurt Jones, Chaffee County Extension,
kurt.jones@colostate.edu
Robin Young, Custer County Extension,
robin.young@colostate.edu
Rusty Collins, Denver County Extension,
rusty.collins@colostate.edu
Darrin Parmenter, LaPlata County Extension,
darrin.parmenter@colostate.edu
Karen Crumbaker, Larimer County Extension,
karen.crumbaker@colostate.edu
Yvette Henson, San Miguel County Extension,
yvette.henson@colostate.edu

Danielle DuBois, Arapahoe County Extension,

DDubois@arapahoegov.com

State Coordinator: Adrian Card,
adrian.card@colostate.edu
Project Evaluation: Kellie Enns,
Kellie.Enns@ColoState.EDU;
Curriculum Development: James Pritchett,
James.Pritchett@ColoState.edu
Project Co-Lead: Dawn Thilmany,
dawn.thilmany@colostate.edu
Project Co-Lead: Martha Sullins,
martha.sullins@colostate.edu
Project Support: Rebecca Hill,
rebec.l.hill@gmail.com


Classroom Programs

Principles of Business Planning and Management is our introductory level course and is the course shown below from current and past County program announcements. Those who successfully complete that course will be awarded a certificate of completion. Certificate holders may apply for additional learning opportunities when available such as mentorships, internships, consultant services as well as intermediate and advanced classes.

2015 Programs

Boulder County
Principles course begins Oct 21, 2015. Applications are due Sept 28

 

Chaffee County
Principles program begins Jan 7th 2015
Advanced program begins April 7th. Applications Due by April 3rd

Denver/Arapahoe/Jefferson County -this is an urban farming oriented program Starting in Jan 20th 2015- brochure
Application were due Dec 4th

 

Mentorship, Internship and Technical Assistance Opportunities


Certificate holders may apply for additional learning opportunities when available such as mentorships, internships, consultant services and advanced classes. For more information on available mentorships, internships and technical assistance opportunities please contact Rebecca Hill (rebec.l.hill@gmail.com) or your local county coordinator.

Colorado Building Farmers' Videos

Click on YouTube icon in embedded viewer if you would like to view on the YouTube website and see other suggested videos

Overview of Colorado Building Farmers


Farmers' Market Perspectives on CBF: Bob D'Alessandro, Executive Director of Boulder County Farmers Markets 2010-2012


Farmers' Market Perspectives on CBF: Cindy Torres, Executive Director of Colorado Farmers Market Association 2010-2012


CBF Participant Testimonials: Beginning of Program


CBF Participant Testimonials: Middle of Program


CBF Participant Testimonials: End of Program


Colorado Building Farmers Impacts

Impact Reports of Colorado Building Farmers Programs